Open-S wins at 2024 Innovation Awards

The Open-S Alliance, the independent organization behind the Open-S standard, has received an Intermat Innovation Award for the creation and introduction of a global open industry standard for automatic quick couplers for excavators.

Representatives of the Open-S Alliance at Intermat 2024 Open-S Alliance representatives (L-R): Stefan Stockhause Open-S Chairman and CEO of Steelwrist, Hampus Jonsson of Rototilt, Stefan Sparwel of Kinshofer and Patrick Lindovist of SMP. (PHOTO: KHL)

Open-S was nominated in the earthmoving, demolition and transport category of the 2024 awards, for which it took home the bronze prize.

Members of the Open-S Alliance, which include Volvo, Wacker Neuson, Kinshofer, KH-Maskin, Rotar, SMP Parts, Agri Manutention, and founding members Steelwrist and Rototilt, gathered to accept the prize at a special awards ceremony held just last night.

Stefan Stockhaus, Chairman of the Board of Open-S Alliance, said: “We are very happy to receive the INTERMAT Innovation Award for the Open-S Standard, where focus has been to create something that is good for the excavator operators and owners.

“Imagine when operators freely interchange both mechanical and hydraulic attachments between excavators in the same size class, then how much efficiency wouldn’t that create?

“Just think about how much time is wasted because workshop personnel, service engineers and operators connect attachments manually or change adaptors to make sure an attachment fits a certain quick coupler.

“Locking customers into proprietary solutions might at first glance seem like a good idea for a manufacturer, but I think that history shows that it’s normally not a great idea.”

Major OEM joins the Open-S Alliance for construction tool attachments Open-S will benefit the customers by simplifying the handling of attachments, says Wacker Neuson

Award winners for this, the 9th edition of the competition, were determined by a jury of industry experts, who assessed a range of equipment, techniques, services and product entries to determine which most contribute to driving progress in the construction and infrastructure sector.

Prizes for innovation were given out for a total of five distinct categories, with the other four comprising the buildings, civil engineering and concrete sector, the lifting and handling sector, the new technologies and energies industry, and the roads, minerals and foundations sector.

To find out which companies claimed the other awards, click the story below.

Intermat Innovation winners announced Winners of the Intermat Innovation awards were announced at a ceremony after the first day of the show in Paris, with Bomag, Moog, Tenstar, Dynaset and Betolar winning the coveted gold awards.


Receive the information you need when you need it through our world-leading magazines, newsletters and daily briefings.

Sign up

Andy Brown Editor, Editorial, UK - Wadhurst Tel: +44 (0) 1892 786224 E-mail: [email protected]
Neil Gerrard Senior Editor, Editorial, UK - Wadhurst Tel: +44 (0) 7355 092 771 E-mail: [email protected]
Catrin Jones Deputy Editor, Editorial, UK – Wadhurst Tel: +44 (0) 791 2298 133 E-mail: [email protected]
Eleanor Shefford Brand Manager Tel: +44 (0) 1892 786 236 E-mail: [email protected]