U.S. DOL introduces construction safety, health committee

The U.S. Department of Labor announced the appointments of 15 people to serve as members on the Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health.

The committee provides advice and assistance to the Secretary of Labor and the Assistant Secretary for Occupational Safety and Health on Construction Safety Act-related policy matters and the setting of construction standards.

Members will serve two-year terms and represent the interests of the public, employers, employees, and state and federal government. The committee — which has broad experience with issues relevant to construction safety and health — generally meets two to four times a year. The appointed members include the following:

Five employee representatives:

  • Christina Trahan Cain, North America’s Building Trades Unions
  • Liliana A. Calderon, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers
  • Ryan Papariello, Laborers Health and Safety Fund of North America
  • Kenneth G. Seal, International Union of Painters and Allied Trades
  • Robert Seman, International Union of Operating Engineers

Five employer representatives:

  • Kevin Cannon, Associated General Contractors of America
  • Matthew Compher, Quanta Services Inc.
  • Michael P. Lawler, Walsh Construction Company
  • Greg Sizemore, Associated Builders and Contractors
  • Mindy Uber, Skanska USA Building Inc.

Two public representatives:

  • Marissa G. Baker, University of Washington
  • Eric D. Fidler, Manitowoc Company Inc.

Two state government representatives:

  • Christopher Scott Mabry, North Carolina Department of Labor
  • Charles Stribling, Kentucky Labor Cabinet Department of Workplace Standards

One federal representative:

  • G. Scott Earnest, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Christina Trahan Cain will serve as the ACCSH chair.

The Contract Work Hours and Safety Standards Act, also known as the Construction Safety Act, established the committee.


Receive the information you need when you need it through our world-leading magazines, newsletters and daily briefings.

Sign up

Andy Brown Editor, Editorial, UK - Wadhurst Tel: +44 (0) 1892 786224 E-mail: [email protected]
Neil Gerrard Senior Editor, Editorial, UK - Wadhurst Tel: +44 (0) 7355 092 771 E-mail: [email protected]
Catrin Jones Deputy Editor, Editorial, UK – Wadhurst Tel: +44 (0) 791 2298 133 E-mail: [email protected]
Eleanor Shefford Brand Manager Tel: +44 (0) 1892 786 236 E-mail: [email protected]